Suizidhinterbliebene Basel / Postfach / 4144 Arlesheim                                                                                                                                                                                                        suizidhinterbliebene@gmx.ch

 

The content of this site was written by survivors for survivors according to the best of our knowledge and in good faith. We weighted the content as we felt appropriate, but are aware that we may not always have done justice to the complexity of the various issues raised. We are ourselves work in progress and our website reflects this.
We would certainly welcome any comments or feedback you wish to share with us.

Grafic Design: www.freeworkmedia.ch

Suicide is a subject that has now come to the attention of the media, where the focus is almost always on prevention. The situation of those left behind when someone chooses to end their own life is rarely addressed.

Their fate seems trivial compared to the tragic fate of the deceased. Yet survivors also need support and help as they embark on the long and arduous path to healing.

SUICIDE AND SOCIETY

Over a thousand people in Switzerland take their own lives every year. They leave behind partners, mothers and fathers, sons and daughters, sisters and brothers, friends and acquaintances.

They convey their condolences, of course, and perhaps offer practical help at first. But as the days, weeks, and months go by, this may well change. Eventually, the subject of the suicide itself and the survivors’ distress will probably be avoided altogether. This will give rise to a complicity of silence that will weigh heavily on the bereaved and leave them feeling even more alone.  

Those who are ready to engage in dialogue are often rather too eager with well-meant advice. Survivors then feel misunderstood and may become increasingly withdrawn.


Their circle of friends and acquaintances will probably shrink, and in the course of time may well dwindle to just a few loyal individuals. Remaining supportive and caring after a suicide is very hard.
 

THE SILENCE
OF OTHERS

Friends, neighbours, colleagues, teachers, and acquaintances are often at a loss how to react following a suicide and consequently feel helpless and out of their Depth.

To outsiders, it may look as if the suicide had to do with a breakdown in family relations, which is why the whole family may be stigmatized. Something as unfathomable as suicide cries out to be explained, and one way of doing that is to apportion blame. Thus the family has still more pain and ignominy heaped upon it. Not surprisingly, many families choose to keep the true cause of death secret, if only to protect themselves.

Another reason for the perception of suicide as a taboo subject is the widespread tendency to link it to mental illness, which also has a social stigma attached to it. Survivors may therefore feel shunned both on account of the suicide itself and the assumption that mental illness was to blame for it. Yet the true causes and the larger context are bound to be complex and can probably never be fully fathomed.

 

Although suicide is now regarded as the ultimate expression of autonomy and freedom and hence as a fundamental human right, this way of looking at it has little to do with those who are truly at risk, who are driven by the mental anguish engendered by what they perceive as a hopeless Situation.

Assisted dying, in which the person wishing to end their own life seeks the support of a professional organization, is a rather different case. The loved-ones of those who elect to depart this life in such a way are generally involved in the process, understand the motivation, and are able to say goodbye. Yet even this variant of suicide is ultimately motivated by a reality that is not freely Chosen.

It is time to end the social taboo that makes suicide something that must be hushed up or that can only be talked about behind closed doors. After all, not every tragedy can be prevented, and when it strikes, it is important that survivors receive the sympathy and understanding they Need.

THE STIGMA

One reason for the helplessness experienced by the survivor’s friends and acquaintances is the fact that suicide is traditionally considered morally reprehensible. Those who take their own lives were for a long time condemned as sinners, as they still are today in some cultures.

“Trauma” as a concept, however, emerged in the 1970s when the long-term consequences of the atrocities witnessed by Vietnam veterans became a subject of Research.

Losing someone to suicide is always traumatic. The response of the immediate circle, both to the suicide itself and to its causes and consequences, is a crucial factor in the healing process.
 

For most of history, those immediately affected have been left to deal with the situation single-handedly. They were expected to heal themselves – perhaps with some rudimentary professional support.

Only later was the absence of support in the immediate aftermath identified as a second trauma that had the effect of compounding the first. Whether and how the healing process is fostered and supported by the survivors' wider circle and society at large is now known to be crucial.

There is thus a real need for more inclusive structures that reach out to survivors and accompany them on their journey. These might include low-level offers of help from voluntary organizations such as family counseling services, home carers, and individuals. Intervention at the height of the crisis will not be sufficient in and of itself. People in a state of shock are scarcely in a position to accept help. The help provided should therefore be adapted to the survivors’ specific – and constantly changing – needs in dialogue with the family.

All too often, suicide survivors have to rely on themselves and on their own limited resources and those of their own private circle. All too often, the trauma itself, the feeling of being overwhelmed by it, and the full extent of the consequences go unrecognized.

Providing suicide survivors with more wide-ranging support services, including care and counseling is a question of political, social, and personal responsibility.

TRAUMA AND SOCIETY

The scientific study of trauma became extremely topical at the time of the two world wars.

PROFESSIONAL SUPPORT:

You might at some point feel unable to cope alone. If so, you should seek professional help. The first person to contact might be your family doctor or the local pastor. Talk to them about what happened, about your grief, and about your fears for the future.

 

143    
Dargebotene Hand

147  
Notruf Kinder und Jugendliche
(hotline for children and young People)

0848 35 45 55    
Elternnotruf (hotline for parents)

061 261 15 15    
Ärztliche Notrufzentrale Notfallpsychiater
(emergency psychiatric Services)

061 325 51 00    
UPK Basel
Notfall für Erwachsene, Jugendliche
und Kinder
(emergency psychiatric services for children and adults)

061 325 81 81     
UPK Basel Akutambulanz
    
Offene Sprechstunden für Erwachsene  
(walk-in psychiatric clinic for adults)
Mon to Fri 8 a.m.–4 p.m.


061 553 56 56    
Psychiatrie Baselland, Liestal    
Notfall für Erwachsene
(emergency psychiatric services for adults)

 

061 325 82 00    
Kinder- und Jugendpsychiatrie Basel
(psychiatric clinic for children and young People)

 

061 553 55 55    
Psychiatrie Baselland, Liestal
    
Notfall für Kinder und Jugendliche(emergency psychiatric services for children and young People)

061 689 90 90    
Zentrum Selbsthilfe Basel
(centre for self-help Groups)

Suizidhinterbliebene Basel / Postfach / 4144 Arlesheim                                                                                                                                                                                                        suizidhinterbliebene@gmx.ch

 

Nous avons rédigé ces textes à l’intention des personnes touchées avec toutes nos connaissances actuelles et avec notre plus grand soin car nous avons vécu cette situation. Les thèmes particuliers ne sont pas traités sous tous leurs aspects. Nous avons formulé ces textes de manière personnelle et tels que nous aimerions les transmettre au public actuellement. Notre démarche est en cours d’évolution et il en va de même pour notre site. Toutes remarques et suggestions de votre part à ce sujet sont bienvenues.

Concept : www.freeworkmedia.ch

Le sujet du suicide est thématisé de nos jours dans les médias. Cependant, le focus est dirigé sur la prévention, sur la question de ce qui peut être fait pour éviter le drame. La situation des proches n’est, quant à elle, que peu abordée.

Les répercussions sur les proches sont minimisées en comparaison du destin tragique du défunt. Pourtant, ils ont aussi besoin de soutien et d’accompagnement pour parvenir à surmonter cette expérience traumatisante.

LE SUICIDE ET
LA SOCIÉTÉ

Chaque année en Suisse, plus de 1'000 personnes mettent volontairement fin à leurs jours. Les maris et femmes, les fils et filles, les frères et sœurs, les pères et mères, les amis et amies sont affectés.

Ils expriment leurs condoléances et proposent une aide pratique. Cela change cependant avec les jours, les semaines et les mois. Le thème du suicide et de la détresse des proches n’est plus abordé lors des rencontres. Il en découle un climat de mutisme, de silence réciproque, qui accable encore davantage et isole.

Certains cherchent le dialogue mais ont tendance à s’empresser avec de bons conseils. Cela part d’une bonne intention mais les personnes concernées se sentent incomprises et s’isolent d’autant plus.
 

Il arrive souvent que le cercle d’amis et de connaissances se réduise et, avec le temps, il se limite à quelques personnes seulement.
 

Offrir un accompagnement et un soutien au proche d’un suicidé n’est pas une tâche facile.

LE MUTISME DE L’ENTOURAGE

Souvent, les amis, voisins, collègues, enseignants et connaissances ne savent pas comment réagir à un suicide, ils se sentent impuissants et craignent de ne pas être à la hauteur.

La famille est stigmatisée et marginalisée car il est commun de croire qu’un suicide arrive dans une famille dont les structures intérieures sont instables. Afin de donner une explication à ce qui s’est passé, la responsabilité est attribuée à la famille ; c’est une source de souffrance supplémentaire. Les familles qui dissimulent le suicide comme étant la cause du décès et qui gardent le secret pour elles ne sont pas des cas isolés. Elles le font pour se protéger.
 

En outre, l’origine du suicide peut être attribuée à une maladie psychique. Cet aspect contribue à maintenir le tabou sur le sujet. La maladie psychique est encore stigmatisée dans notre société. Les proches sont ainsi marginalisés par le suicide en soi, par la maladie psychique présumée et par la responsabilité attribuée. Les causes et les circonstances sont pourtant complexes et ne peuvent être comprises dans tous leurs détails.

Le suicide assisté est considéré de nos jours comme l’expression de l’autodétermination et de la liberté individuelle, c’est un droit fondamental. Mais ce point de vue ne s’applique pas lors d’un suicide. En effet, ce qui pousse la personne désespérée à l’acte, c’est la situation sans issue apparente et la crise profonde qui en résulte.
 

L’autodétermination à sa mort, dans le cadre d’une association d’assistance au suicide, est une approche différente pour mettre fin à ses jours. La personne est accompagnée dans son processus d’adieu. Elle et ses proches parlent, clarifient et prennent congé. Mais finalement cette situation a le même arrière-plan d’une réalité qui n’est pas délibérément choisie.
 

Le suicide ne devrait pas continuer à être un tabou social refoulé dans les espaces privés. Si la tragédie n’a pu être évitée, il faut fournir une aide concrète et humaine aux proches du suicidé.

LA STIGMATI-
SATION

L’impuissance de l’entourage dépend principalement du fait que le suicide est considéré comme un acte moralement condamnable. Celui qui met fin à ses jours a longtemps été qualifié de pécheur – et encore partiellement de nos jours.

Dans les années 70, le concept de traumatisme psychique a vu le jour lorsque la recherche a commencé à se consacrer aux conséquences des expériences traumatisantes vécues par les vétérans de la guerre du Vietnam.

Perdre quelqu’un à la suite d’un suicide est un traumatisme. La manière dont l’environnement social se comporte vis-à-vis du traumatisme, de ses causes et de ses conséquences, est déterminante dans le processus de réadaptation du proche.
 

Longtemps, ce travail était l’affaire personnelle de la personne touchée. On exigeait d’elle qu’elle assume toute seule sa guérison, ou éventuellement avec une assistance professionnelle.
 

Il a été reconnu seulement plus tard que le manque de soutien après l’événement traumatique peut s’avérer sur-traumatisant. La manière dont l’environnement social supporte et soutient le processus de réadaptation est alors déterminante.

Il serait important de créer des structures globales qui accueillent et soutiennent les personnes touchées. Une offre d’aide bénévole à bas seuil devrait être mise à disposition, comprenant un accompagnement socio-pédagogique aux familles, une aide à domicile, un interlocuteur personnel, et ceci de manière durable. Une intervention en situation d’urgence n’est pas suffisante car une aide ne peut guère être acceptée dans l’état de choc immédiat. C’est dans le dialogue avec la famille touchée que l’aide peut s’adapter aux besoins individuels variables.
 

Les proches d’un suicidé sont encore bien trop livrés à eux-mêmes et dépendants en premier lieu de leurs propres ressources et de celles de leur entourage direct. Le traumatisme, l’impuissance face à la situation et l’ampleur des conséquences, ne sont encore pas assez reconnus.
 

Les proches d’un suicidé devraient être soutenus et accompagnés d’une manière plus globale. Il s’agit d’une responsabilité politique, sociétale et personnelle.

TRAUMATISME
ET SOCIÉTÉ

La recherche scientifique sur les psycho-traumatisés est devenue actuelle pendant les deux guerres mondiales.

VOUS TROUVEZ ICI DES AIDES QUALIFIÉES:

Il est possible que vous n’arriviez pas à surmonter l’épreuve seul et que vous deviez avoir recours à de l’aide qualifiée. Votre médecin de famille ou le service d’assistance de votre paroisse peuvent être vos premiers interlocuteurs. Parlez de l’événement, de votre deuil, de vos soucis et de la suite à donner.

 

143    
La Main Tendue

147  
Aide aux enfants et aux jeunes en situation d’urgence

0848 35 45 55    
Elternnotruf

061 261 15 15    
Ärztliche Notrufzentrale Notfallpsychiater

061 325 51 00    
UPK Basel
Notfall für Erwachsene, Jugendliche
und Kinder

 

061 325 81 81     
UPK Basel Akutambulanz    
Offene Sprechstunden für Erwachsene  
Mo bis Fr 8 Uhr – 16 Uhr

061 553 56 56    
Psychiatrie Baselland, Liestal    
Notfall für Erwachsene

 

061 325 82 00    
Kinder- und Jugendpsychiatrie Basel

 

061 553 55 55    
Psychiatrie Baselland, Liestal    
Notfall für Kinder und Jugendliche

 

061 689 90 90    
Zentrum Selbsthilfe Basel